So boom, Kanye West has just released his long awaited eighth studio album, Ye. Kanye needs no introduction, he is one of the most polarizing figures in hip-hop. As of late he has caught a lot of flack for his recent antics. His spur of the moment rants and cockiness are what made alot of people fall in love with Ye and of course the music. His newest album is shrouded in controversy amidst Kanye aliging himself with Donald Trump. The question was raised can or will you support someone who has aligned himself with a ignorant figure in politics. There have been many answers to the questions, some abandoning Kanye all together, while some just want the music. I personally am apart of the latter while I do understand why someone may feel upset that a person who has been vocal about black issues completely flips and aligns himself with the complete opposite of everything he once stood for. So here we are we a new Kanye album, does it live up to the hype, does it make up for Kanye’s shenanigans or have we truly seen one of hip-hops greatest acts fall off?


So I decided to do things a little bit different here and I’m going to do a track by track review.  Since the album is only 7 tracks I feel as though it would be much more impactful.

  1. I Thought About Killing You-  Kanye starts the album out with this weird, spoken word piece about loving himself and how he thought about killing himself, and he loves himself more than you, so he thought killing you today.  It felt very…weird.  I understood what Kanye was trying to go for here but it didn’t come off well.  It did pull me in and catch my attention though in the second half of the track.  But even with the beat and pace switch up I still felt as though Kanye was lacking lyrically.  It boils down to a cool concept with subpar execution.
  2. Yikes-  The hook is terrible.  Apparently Drake wrote the hook and that really has me looking sideways at Drake, but whatever.  The verse is good, first good verse on the album.  Kanye has me untill he starts screaming histericallyy on the track, Relax. Yikes is alright.
  3. All Mine-  So whoever is singing on this track is annoying.  It sounds like they were inspired by Futures vocals on King’s Dead.  Ty Dolla sounds great on this track, but when was the last time Ty Dolla Sign sounded bad?  Ye starts off great, but he has terrible lines throughout this track.  “I love your titties because they prove I can focus on two things at once”, “None of us would be here without cum”.  Kanye has reached a new low. There is at least three rappers I could think of who could have done this track better justice.
  4. Wouldnt Leave-  The soulful vocal work from PartyNextDoor, Jeremih, and Ty Dolla Sign are great.  Kanye’s verse was good as well.  I’m confused as what Ye was talking about throughout the track.  But so far the album has been all over the place so it makes sense I guess.  The soulful production is a great touch to this song.
  5. No Mistakes- No mistakes is a great track.  I loved Charlie Wilsons singing and Ye actually has a good verse throughout the song.  While I enjoy the track it just felt like another Bound 2 from Yeezus.
  6. Ghost Town-  Ghost Town is easily my favorite track on the album.  This marks another Kanye and Kid Cudi collaboration, and if Kids See Ghosts is anything like this, it should be a great project.  Cudi does amazing vocally, giving me vocals  reminiscent his Man on the Moon 2 era.  Kanye also impressed me with his singing.  It is the best singing I’ve heard from Kanye in recent memory.  The real star of this track is 070 Shake.  Shake is their newest G.O.O.D. music Signee and after hearing her on this track I expect big things from her in the future.  These three came together and made magic.  Amazing track.
  7. Violent Crimes- 070 Shake begins the track beautifully, I need to check out some more of her work.  Even with the creepy lines about not wanting his daughter to have a body like Kims and wanting her to have a body like his, this verse by Ye is good.  This song would have been a perfect ending, if you didn’t have a phoned in Nicki Minaj verse.  Either wait for her to actually make it to a studio or remove the phone call entirely.

Ye has some good points on there.  The album has good production, and the guest features are amazing on this project for the most part.  Ty Dolla Sign, Kid Cudi and 070 Shake had the standout performances.  But when it comes to the main act Kanye, he was lacking in every aspect.  Most of the verses felt weak and lackluster.  I liked the verse on Yikes, and his singing on Ghost Town and he had a few bright spots throughout the album.  Ye feels like a collection of B-Sides from his previous work.  While theres a few songs on here that are cool and some cool moments but as a whole it fell short of my expectations.  Kanye was all over the place and I wouldn’t have a problem with that if his camp to precede the album with, “all the questions you have will be answered”, when nothing I wanted answered was answered.  Ye would be a good project coming from anybody else, but coming from Kanye West it left a lot to be desired.

Score: 3/5

Favorite Tracks: No Mistakes, Ghost Town, No Mistakes

What did you think of Ye, did you like it or did you hate it?  If you didn’t listen tell us why.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s